HEA Fellowship

Curtin University has a long history of valuing teaching excellence, and is committed to ensuring all students have a positive learning experience. As a leading global university, Curtin strives to educate in ways that address international issues and challenges.


Advance Higher Education (Advance HE, formerly Higher Education Academy) fellowship demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and provides recognition of practice, impact and leadership in learning and teaching. Fellowships are awarded based on evidence of personal professional practice that meets the requirements of the Professional Standards Framework, which is Advance HE’s standards framework for the higher education sector. In other words, Curtin University staff who are awarded fellowship with Advance HE has successfully demonstrated their commitment to excellent learning and teaching, through engagement in effective and inclusive practices.


Curtin University is also an Advance HE-accredited institution, who supports their academics towards fellowship. Academic staff are given the opportunity to participate in a globally-recognised institutional program where they will be mentored and supported as they develop their application.


The four levels of HEA Fellowship are:


  • Associate Fellowship (AFHEA)
  • Fellowship (FHEA)
  • Senior Fellowship (SFHEA)
  • Principal Fellowship (PFHEA)


For further information, please contact the Office of Learning and Teaching (olt@curtin.edu.my)